Organic India: Organic Tulsi Tea Review.

A few weeks ago I was shopping in my local Co-Op and I stumbled across a heavenly smell at the register.  It was sweet and heavy, like a perfume, but not over bearing.  I couldn’t help but ask what it was.  When the cashier lifted up her mug and the Tulsi tea label swung lazily in the air, I knew I had to have some.  The shop sold three different kinds: Original, Sweet Rose, and Lemon Ginger.  Not only that but they were offering coupons for $1 off each box, plus they were on sale for $3.99… PLUS I had a 20% discount because my husband volunteers his Saturday mornings to work in their bakery.  I got all three boxes for under $6, and rushed home to try them out.

First thing I LOVE about these teas is that they are all herbal, which is great for me because I tend to drink tea at night.  The base of each of them is Holy Basil, which is also called Tulsi.

Herbal Supplement. USDA organic. Caffeine-free. Certified organic.Throughout India, Tulsi is considered “The Queen of Herbs” and is revered as a sacred plant infused with healing power. Traditionally grown in an earthen pot in every family home or garden, Tulsi (also known as Holy Basil) makes a delicious and refreshing tea that possesses wonderful health benefits that support the body’s natural immune system while relieving the body’s negative reaction to stress.Tulsi’s remarkable life-enhancing qualities, noted repeatedly in ancient Indian scriptures dating back 5,000 years. 

Modern research has classified Tulsi as an adaptogenic herb. Adaptogens have been shown to support the body’s natural immune system while relieving the body’s negative reaction to stress. Adaptogenic herbs have been used in traditional Ayurvedic and Chinese herbal medicines for thousands of years to promote and maintain wellness. Many adaptogenic herbs have been referred to by herbalists as rejuvenative herbs, qi tonic herbs, rasayanas or restorative herbs. They help the body adapt to environmental, physical and emotional stressors, support normal functions, and restore balance. 

(Info taken from brand website).

I have been looking for a holy basil tea so this was right down my ally.  I have to say I am hooked on the Sweet Rose tea!!!  It smells heavenly, and tastes so wonderful.  It is refreshing and helps me relax after a night at work, and it just makes me FEEL good, which is what life is about right?

Not only that but rose tea has medicinal properties all on its own.  Rose tea helps to clear toxins from our bodies, is fantastic to help ease symptoms of colds, the flu, and bronchitis.  It’s a wonderful digestive aid and kidney/liver detox, and even helps with womanly issues of all kinds.  All that, plus it’s LOADED with vitamin C <3.   Which is enough to get me on board.

The other great things about these teas: they are ORGANIC.  I do love that word!  I use to just drink any kind of tea I came across, but now I make sure I’m buying organic, quality tea when I do… even though most of the time I have to make it with unfiltered tap water *groan.*  If any one is interested in learning about what is in most main stream tea brands, the Food Babe did an investigation.

Do you know what’s really in your tea?

 

2 comments

  1. ~ carmen ~ (@CarmenVarner) · September 23, 2014

    Omg this looks sooooo good. Sweet rose sounds so fantastic. I love anything rosy. :] // itsCarmen.com ☼ ☯

Leave a Reply

