Review: Avalon Organics Shampoo in Lavender

shopping

Ever since I started following The Food Babe‘s blog I have been dying to try Avalon shampoo.  In my journey to have a healthier life both inside and out I have been searching for healthier alternatives to my household and beauty products.  In her post about Holistic Hair Care, The Food Babe suggests this shampoo in peppermint… I couldn’t find it at my local stores.  What I DID find was the lavender scent in a BOGO pack, whoop!!!  So I picked up the pack at a Hannaford in Dover NH, where I could get it tax free right before my wedding(double whoop!) and held on to it until I got home and ran out of my other shampoo (which I will review later).  Now from what I understand this is a newer formula, I never got to try the old one.

First thing I noticed about the shampoo was the wonderful lavender scent.  I’ve been obsessed with lavender ever since I started getting into a more natural life.  If I could bath in it I would.  That being said, I was really excited to try this product out, and I wasn’t disappointed… but I wasn’t in love either.

Pros: First of all, for a shampoo it does a great job for sure.  It doesn’t strip my hair like other shampoos do, and I wouldn’t be concerned to go without conditioner with this product.  I do plan to pick up the matching conditioner, because who-am-I-kidding-I-need-conditioner-in-my-life.  The scent is great and subtle in it’s lasting effects.  My hair looks healthy, and smells heavenly.

Cons: It rates a 3 on the EWG’s Skin Deep site.  Yeah a 3… that is the highest I ever want to go with a product now.  I would have been much happier with a 2, but we pick our battles right?  Also I need a little extra to get it to lather up in my hair.  And I have SHORT hair now!!  I can’t imagine how much I would have needed with my longer hair.  That is a big con for me because it means less bang for my buck!  Which being on a tight budget now, and soon to be even tighter (the restaurant my husband works at will be closing at the end of the month) means I need to make my $ stretch.

I would love to try and go no-poo… but I just can’t give up my hair products yet!!!  Plus I work in food service, who wants someone greasy serving them their food?  Mad props to the no-poo people, they are brave and dedicated!

Leave a Reply

