Vegan Banana Bread and other yumminess

I have to say, right now my house smells A-MAZ-ING.

After my work out today I needed to refuel, and what better to refuel with then some good old fashion store bought soup? Our local health food store makes these soups to die for and I grabbed one yesterday that caught my eye. Portuguese Kale Soup with vegan sausage. It’s simple and packs a yummy spicy punch.  My husband works for them on Saturday morning, so I’m hoping he’ll be able to smuggle out the recipe for me.

.IMG_20140925_144336

And on the side I followed it up with a piece of Ezekial bread, topped with: Hummus, avocado, and tomato and cucumber from our garden.  It was so so good.

IMG_20140925_144719

For dinner I snagged a portion of my sons dinner he wasn’t interested in, it’s the same things every night I swear.  We are very uncreative… so I thought to myself:  what can I make my son, that will be healthy and yummy for him tomorrow morning?  I looked around and realized I had about a dozen or more bananas I had snagged from work.  I work at a local college, and when their bananas or anything else are out dated/over ripe/unsaleable… they give them away.  So I took a LOT.  But only giving my son one a day and already having a freezer STUFFED with bananas, I knew I only had one option.  Banana bread.

But I can’t find my bread pan… probably got thrown out… I also don’t have any eggs… or brown/white sugar… or butter…

What’s a girl to do?

I’ll tell you what, improvise… and it’s AMAZING.

IMG_20140925_205520

This is seriously the best tasting banana bread I have ever made.  The top is crispy and the inside soft and thick… and it’s just all around WONDERFUL.  I will never go back to my old way of making it again, I won’t be able to, it JUST-WON’T-BE-THE-SAME.  And the best part?  It’s pretty much a health food.

My recipe:

2 cups of flour: I used organic unbleached

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 a cup of organic coconut oil

3/4 cup organic date sugar

2 tablespoons chia seeds

7 tablespoons water

2 1/3 cup over ripe mashed bananas.

Step One: Heat over to 350

Step Two: Mix chia seeds and water, set aside

Step Three: Mix together all ingredients except for flour

Step Four: Mix in chia seed gel

Step Five: Add flour

Bake until top is solid, and a knife can be inserted and removed cleanly.

I promise, it is SO good.  And it’s perfectly safe to eat if it is under cooked because there are no eggs!  Enjoy.

2 comments

  1. Elifnaz · September 26, 2014

    They all look delicious!

    http://bellemelange.net/blog

    • megaliciousmilleroony · September 26, 2014

      They are crazy good! I can’t stress how blown away I was by the banana bread!

Leave a Reply

