Splurge vs. Steals

Hey there!  It’s been a long, long two weeks since I’ve posted.  I’ve had a lot of looks I wanted to share on here, but I just never had the time/energy to do it.  It’s been a hard few weeks with my son (who turned 2 on Tuesday), he is refusing to sleep past midnight, or being extremely difficult if I don’t sleep with him in his crib.  Needless to say, I’m a little tired from running on less than an hour of sleep every night.  But enough about toddler troubles.

Recently, my husband came into a little bit of money, that we were able to use to pay off our outstanding bills and we were each able to put aside $500 for ourselves to spend as we pleased.  I, of course, wanted to update my wardrobe a little.  The things I’ve been really really wanting were: booties, a new winter jacket, a classic black blazer, and a pair of high end jeans.  We have a beautiful little boutique in our town called The Isle Of You, that sells True Religion and other similar brands, as well as their own store brand.  I have ALWAYS wanted a pair of jeans that didn’t come from Kohls, Sears, Jcpenny, Walmart and similar stores.  This is the place I wanted to grab a pair, and I did, but I put them on layaway.  They were a little snug for me at the time, but I have until the end of the year to pay them off or return them, so I’ll see how well they fit in December.  They look great on, but were a little uncomfortable.  ANYWAY…

We (my husband, son and I) made a day trip to our local “mall” which consists of the following stores:

Sears (closing in January) I’ll be returning to work there for the last few months they are open, I’ll be buying loads of clothing for myself, my husband and especially my son.  With the liquidation discount + my 20%, I should be leaving there with bags of clothes for the same price or less than a 2nd hand store.

GNC

Olympia Sports

Payless Shoes

Maurices (we have one of the largest ones)

Claires

Jcpenny

Bon-Ton

Kay Jewelers

Encore Shoe Department

The Deb

Champs

Along with a few individual owned shops with hippie/country themed items, and a “gym”… but that’s pretty much it for shopping.  Which is why I say “Mall.”  So shopping doesn’t take long.

My first stop was Payless Shoes.  I don’t usually shop at this store, but I was definitely on the search for shoes that trip so I figured I would take a quick look inside and I’m SO glad I did.

#1: Splurge Vs. Steal

Untitled

Splurge: Giorgio Armani Suede Lace-up boots.  $825.

100_0364100_0365

Steal: Fioni Jetset Navy Platform Oxford. $34.99.  Payless.

I actually like the design of this oxford better than the Giorgio, I love that it’s in navy, and is such an unexpected colour.  For a better image click on the link.  This also has a 4 1/2 our of 5 rating.  Score.

#2 Splurge Vs. Steal

144melbarmn_black_side

Splurge: Jimmy Choo Black Coarse Metallic Leather Ankle Boots.  $995.

100_0370100_0371

Steal: Fergalicious By Fergie Misty-T Bootie.  $39.98 at Shoe Department.

#3 Splurge Vs. Steal

81929-df2f316f-27d1-41ce-a318-de9453a6fe72_335

Splurge: Paul Green “Topaz”  Suede Peep Toe Bootie.  $412

100_0361100_0362

Steal: Maurices Shelby Bootie in Gray. $10 was $39.99.  On clearance.

#4 Splurge Vs. Steal

dfs

Splurge: Kate Spade New York, Lexy Leather Buckle Ankle Boots.  $398.  Saks.

100_0366100_0367

Steal: Jellypop Caramel Boots.  $39.98.  Shoe Department.

I hope you liked my first splurge vs. steal post!

4 comments

  1. Jenny · November 13, 2014

    I am in shock that a pair of shoes costs nearly $1,000! I got a pair of booties very similar to that particular pair from Cato for I believe $30. I adore them. I will never be able to spend more than $100 on a pair of shoes, though I don’t remember ever having spent even that much. Geez. Anyway, your mall sounds a lot like my mall. Kinda sad, amiright?
    xx
    Jenny // Mish Mosh Makeup

    • megaliciousmilleroony · November 13, 2014

      I know, man the idea of having $500 for clothes was enough to blow my mind! I couldn’t imagine blowing it ALL on one thing! I was considering dropping $300 for a beautiful winter coat and I had to remind myself that, that is kind of a waste of money when I could have found one similar for less than $100. Shoes for $1,000? No thank. $1,000 could buy me 20 pairs. The mall situation is so, so sad! The town the mall is in, is rotting, Sears announced they are closing at the mall, now rumors that Jcpenny maybe doing the same. Then the Office Max across from the Mall is shutting down. It’s crazy. I prefer to try on clothing, not order online(unless I KNOW my size by heart), so this is going to be hard on me. You’re not alone!!

  2. Margaret Dallospedale · November 14, 2014

    Lovely selection babe.
    Kisses

Leave a Reply

