Baby’s First Salt Lamp and Mommy Get’s Lucky.

So two posts today!  Again!

Last night I was browsing the internet and as I mentioned I am in LOVE with the Isle Of You boutique in my little town.  They NEVER have sales *cry* and I mean never, I almost died the day I saw they were selling Ugg Boots for 30% off.  So when I viewed their Facebook page last night and saw *GASP* they were having a ONE DAY ONLY, ONCE A YEAR, ONCE A FUCKING LIFETIME.  Sale.  I almost died, I think I fell out of my chair, maybe I’m actually dead and this is some weird dream my mind made up in the afterlife???

The other reason I almost died?  I spent all my money, I had not a dime.  Death.

So, I told my husband, I begged, he said “no” there was swearing involved, tears, sadness…

But I called the store anyway, I HAD to know.  I needed a the jeans I had seen on the clearance rack.  A beautiful pair of Lucky Brand Jeans that fit me like a glove.  Beautiful, originally $119 jeans that I Just-Couldn’t-JUSTIFY.  Marched down to $91… that I still couldn’t bare to do, and it’s been haunting me since that day.  So I dialed, I called.  The sale was only for 3 hours, 9-midnight, so strange, yet so right.

A sales girl answered, happy, cheerful, I could hear women screaming and laughing behind her, I was dying inside.

Girl: “Isle Of You?”

Me: “Hi, yes, are you offering additional off your clearance tonight?”

Girl: “Everything on the clearance rack is $20 tonight”

Twenty Dollars… TWENTY-MOTHER-FUCKING-DOLLARS.  It’s worth the curse words, worth every obscenity.  This clearance rack is full of 7 Jeans, Packed with Free People, Bursting with Lucky… for $20 a piece.  I looked to my husband, and mouthed the words “$20.”  He sighed, called the bank, and transferred $100 into his checking.  Gave me the debit card with a look in his eye, begging “Please, don’t spend $100.”

I ran out of the house.  Booked it down the street, weaving in and out of women all heading to the Isle.  I dove into the rack outside the store… but there were no jeans… ARGH!!!??!

I asked the girl and she directed me to the table, where neatly folded rows of jeans stared at me $25 each, $5 more than I was quoted, but I couldn’t even.  I’m basic.

I dug through the piles… the jeans weren’t there… so I grabbed all the others in size 32, the highest size the store carried and rushed to a fitting room… only to be broken hearted when I realized they were all “Super Skinny” Style.  I am not “super skinny” in any form of the word, I never will be, I have calves the size of my head.  I couldn’t get the jeans passed my knee.  I sulked out of the dressing room.  Defeated.  I went back to the table and put my jeans away, because I’m a retail bitch, I know what’s up.  The store was full of women, grabbing things off the rack and I had missed my chance.  The store owner stepped to my side, beautiful lady she is, all style and flair, I want to look like her when I’m older.  She asks if she can help me.  I tell her of my sadness, that I loved these jeans, but they were gone, I had missed my chance.  She steps closer, pulls the top pair off the pile, and hands them to me.  I look down… it’s the jeans.  My jeans… right in front of me.  She smiles, I hug my pants.  I got Lucky with Lucky’s.

100_0400 100_0401 100_0405100_0403 100_0406

100_0429

Express Top: $49.90 (BOGO 19.90 right now!)

Fioni Heels: $34.99 at Payless

Lucky Jeans: I paid $25 you can find them here for $69.30

I love them, I’m so freaking happy!  $25 how the Hell can you beat that??

So while I’m been walking around in my happy cloud, I got MORE joy in the mail!

My son Henry has been having a LOT of trouble sleeping lately, and I mean a LOT.  He wakes up screaming every night at 12:30ish and won’t sleep again until 6 a.m., then is back up at 7:30, it’s messing me up.  Lately I’ve taken to sleeping in hsi crib with him, on in an armchair in his room.  So I thought, perhaps some nice, calming light in his room would help him stay settled?  It couldn’t hurt right?  And I didn’t want to go with a conventional night light, I’m afraid he will pull it out of his wall.  Plus if I am going to spend the money, it might as well be for something I love, in case my thought on the light helping him was dead wrong.  I hate to waste money.  So I settled on a salt lamp.

Himalayan Salt Lamp with Neem Wood Base

100_0408

My son loves it so far, besides trying to eat it, he loves the light haha.  It’s beautiful and VERY heavy.  The salt is flaking off a little, but I expected that with the rough cut one.  I would have loved to order the smooth, ball shaped lamp, but I have a feeling my son would have been kept up all night pointing at it yelling “bwall!!!”

H100_0417 100_0415  100_0411 100_0409   100_0413

That’s all for today

Xoxo

Megan

Leave a Reply

